Steven JW Kennedy

My Blog

Disappearing Recycle Bin

Posted by Steven Kennedy on February 9, 2010


I’m running Microsoft Vista and I’ve noticed that my Recycle Bin has disappeared from my Desktop. Whilst annoying I was still able to get to it via my icon on the desktop and then selecting Desktop. However, that route dried up as well. Very annoying. I couldn’t get to the Recycle Bin to empty it or recover files.

In searching the web I found a number of possible solutions, some of which required Registry changes, which I’d rather not have to do, but I also found a lot simpler solution.

So for Vista only;

  • Right click on the desktop then click ‘Personalize

image

  • Once there look to the left pane near the top and click ‘Change Desktop Icons’

image

  • If the check box for ‘Recycle Bin’ is not checked then check it and click on ‘OK
  • If the check box for ‘Recycle Bin’ is checked then un-check it and click on ‘Apply’ then check the box and click on ‘OK

You should now have your Recycle Bin back on your Desktop.

Leave a Reply

 
