Steven JW Kennedy

My Blog

Google Analytics: Color me confused

Posted by Steven Kennedy on January 7, 2011


In a previous posting I’d talked about setting up Google Analytics on an internal SharePoint site and ran in to an issue where I was using the url ‘http://sharepoint/my’ to access the SharePoint site, but I wasn’t getting any tracking data. I resolved the issue, as the post details, and started getting tracking data. All well and good.

The bit that has me confused is that I have a Mac Mini that I use at home and I used  it to access my SharePoint site. When I did so I used the ‘http://sharepoint’ URL and then drilled down to my My Site and subsequently my Blog. That means I wasn’t using the full qualified Domain Name (FQDN) that I’d thought was necessary for Google Analytics to work. So imagine my surprise when checking my Google Analytics results that I see my visits from my Mac showing up.

When I checked the Hostnames, within Google Analytics, I see both ‘sharepoint’ and ‘sharepoint.domain.local’ as host names, for the same server.

So, is the FQDN, and use of an Alternative Access Mapping entry only required to set up and get Google Analytics working? After that the abbreviated name will work and allow statistics to be gathered? I’m not sure yet what I’m going to do to resolve the question. A couple of ways forward present themselves;

  • Ignore, It’s working. Leave it alone – This would grate, I like to know why things do what they do and this isn’t working the way I expected.
  • Troll the Internet. See if someone has an answer to this question – most likely avenue that I’ll peruse
  • Play around with Google Analytics and SharePoint myself. This would mean setting up a separate SharePoint site, Google Analytics code etc. to play with various scenarios. Quite a bit of time and effort involved, especially give the time lag between setting Google Analytics up and it starts to report.
One Response to “Google Analytics: Color me confused”

  1. Steven Kennedy said

    Had to update this post because I’d used https:// instead of http:// for the links.

Leave a Reply

 
