Steven JW Kennedy

My Blog

Power outage at home

Posted by Steven Kennedy on January 27, 2011


The snow storm that hit the East Coast yesterday took out my power at home. The power outage started around 5:30pm and looks like it cam back around 2:00am on the 28th. I was asleep at the time so I’m going by the reboot time of my Mac Mini.

I have UPS’s to support my home network and my FIOS, voice, connection stayed up and working. Although both my monitor and firewall/router went down as they’re only on a surge protection socket.

I left my systems up and running for approximately 30 minutes, to see if the power was going to come back on. I then plugged the monitor in to a battery backup socket and started to shut down the various virtual machines I have running under Hyper-V. I got most of them shutdown, but not all, before my UPS ran out and shut down the physical PC, hard. Must start shutting down sooner next time.

I’m going to see about re-doing my power to my systems so that both the monitor and firewall/router are on UPS. That way I can shut systems down, and also find out if my FIOS data circuit stays up, like the voice does.

One Response to “Power outage at home”

  1. Steven Kennedy said

    Well, seems like the power outage took out by Comcast, sorry, Xfinity, cable box. The odd thing was that it as still recording to the DVR I just couldn’t watch TV.

    I scheduled a tech to come out, having gone through the phone tech support, power off, send signal etc. They’ve just left. Seems my original box had a bad receiver, it has two. The recordings are normally done on receiver 2 which is why it still recorded. Unfortunately when the tech swapped out the box for a replacement the Out-of-band signal that they use to activate the box was very poor. Seems there’s a problem somewhere else.

    So I have a new box but no programming as yet, until they fix the outside network. In the mean time I have the coax plugged in directly to the TV and I should get the non-preimum channels. TV’s scanning now, it’ll take about 30 minutes or so.

Leave a Reply

 
