Steven JW Kennedy

My Blog

Aaargh!

Posted by Steven Kennedy on February 24, 2011


I’ve a Microsoft Rights Management Service server setup on my home network. I have it working with Office 2010 and Exchange 2010. Then I found a reference on-line to the fact that RMS could be made to work with Office for the Mac 2011. So I followed the instructions and I can open and read RMS protected Office documents but the icon to set permissions is grayed out. That’s when I found the following reference in the Word:Mac Product Guide;

Creating IRM-protected documents with Office for Mac 2011 requires the volume license edition of Office 2011, as well as a Rights Management server running Windows Server 2008 R2. SP1 Opening IRM-protected content to which you have been given access can be done from any edition of Office for Mac 2011 or from Office 2003 for Windows or later.

The version I have is the ordinary retail version of Office for Mac 2011. So I can open and read protected documents but I cannot create them. I have a TechNet account and I checked the version available there and it’s; Office for Mac 2011 Home and Business, the same version as I already have. Guess I’m not going to be testing RMS with the Mac anytime soon.

Crying face

Leave a Reply

 
