Steven JW Kennedy

My Blog

Plotting SharePoint List Data on a Google Map – Part 2

Posted by Steven Kennedy on April 11, 2011


First off I’d like to acknowledge Kyle Schaeffer’s posting Plotting Your SharePoint 2010 List Data on a Google Map which I used as the starting point for my little project. I was also just going to make this a single post, as I implied in my initial post on this topic Plotting SharePoint List Data on a Google Map – Part 1, but as I started to write this post it got longer and longer, so I’ve broken it up in to multiple posts that I’ve listed below. You can either jump to the specific post of interest, or you can go through from Step One. Each post has a link to both the previous post and the next post in the series. The SP & GM used in the post titles indicate ‘SharePoint & Google Maps’, making it a little bit easier to identify the posts as part of the same series.

Scenario

What I wanted to do was take a set of address information and plot it on a Google Map, with the markers being clickable and showing various salient information about the location. In my case I mocked up some location information to emulate a company with sites across the USA, along with the number of employees at each site. You could also use something similar to indicate what type and or the size of the sites network connections. Does it have direct Internet access etc. For my example I’m keeping it simple, Location and number of employees. Also, instead of using Google’s geocoder function, to resolve an address to a Lat/Long, I’m going to provide the Lat/Long as part of the SharePoint List data. This means some additional up front work, and ongoing as new locations are added but this is off-set by the issues created in trying to use the geocoder functionality for something like 200 locations and the various limitations imposed by using the free capability that Google provides.

Requirements to use these posts to do the something similar;

  • SharePoint 2010, and appropriate access to be able to create;
    • a SharePoint 2010 List
    • a web part web page
    • use SharePoint Designer 2010 to edit the web part web page (some companies may have restricted this capability. In which case you’re out of luck and you wont be able to follow these instructions.)
  • A set of data, including location information, that you wish to plot using Google Maps

Note! This example makes use of the Google Maps V2 API (which has been deprecated already, but still works) along with jQuery.

Additional posts in this series

If you follow the steps outlined above you should be able to end up with a Google Maps displayed on a SharePoint page that looks something like;

image_thumb[10][1]

4 Responses to “Plotting SharePoint List Data on a Google Map – Part 2”

  1. […] Plotting SharePoint List Data on a Google Map – Part 2 […]

  2. […] Plotting SharePoint List Data on a Google Map – Part 2 […]

  3. Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words
    in your article seem to be running off the
    screen in Chrome. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I thought I’d post
    to let you know. The style and design look great though!
    Hope you get the problem solved soon. Cheers

Leave a Reply

 
